0

Review of Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids by Leslie Forsberg and Michelle Duffy

Posted by minnemom on May 23, 2009 in Books

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

Tags: , , ,

 
2

Review of Lincoln Highway Companion by Brian Butko

Posted by minnemom on May 23, 2009 in Books

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

Tags: , ,

 
0

What’s Your Favorite BBQ?

Posted by minnemom on May 5, 2009 in Family Activities

I’ve written about Famous Dave’s before because we really enjoy the food and family-friendly atmosphere there.  Some folks from Famous Dave’s noticed, and over the next few months, I’ll be helping with some PR for Famous Dave’s.  Because I will receive some compensation for this, future Famous Dave’s posts will be located on this blog and linked from Travels with Children.

CNN currently has an I-Report feature on Best BBQ Joints.  Do you have a favorite place to eat barbecue?  If so, submit it to CNN and tell them why it’s the best!  You can see my report as well, and vote for your favorites, comment, or e-mail the entries to your friends.  If you put in your own entry, be sure to specify a location if it happens to be a chain like Famous Dave’s.  The best entry will get a chance to appear on CNN.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite BBQ joint?  Share in the comments, and if you decide to enter an I-Report, please link to it below!

 
2

Review of Hide & Seek Board Game by LemonTree Games

Posted by minnemom on May 3, 2009 in Family Activities

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

 
2

Review of America’s Best Zoos: A Travel Guide for Fans and Families by Allen W. Nyhuis & Jon Wassner

Posted by minnemom on Apr 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

 
1

Review of Roku Netflix Player

Posted by minnemom on Mar 8, 2009 in DVD/Video

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

 
0

Review of Lands’ End Sun.Life UPF50 Cardigan

Posted by minnemom on Mar 8, 2009 in Clothing

Even in northern climates, sun protection is important.  I’m concerned with sun safety for my kids and for myself.  In the past that has meant sunscreen and sun hats and staying out of the sun when it’s at its highest in the sky.

Recently, Lands’ End offered to send me an item from their Sun.Life UPF50 line of clothing.  I chose the Long Sleeve Cotton Full-Zip Cardigan Sweater.  The Sun.Life line also contains many other items, ranging from shorts to t-shirts to hats, for men, women, and children.

As far as the cardigan goes, it’s a decent sweater.  The fabric is soft and comfortable, a cotton knit that doesn’t have little fuzzies to tickle my nose as many sweaters do.  The fit is true-to-size and the color as described on the Lands’ End website.  I haven’t tried to wash it yet, but the label says machine wash delicate, dry flat.

The idea of UPF clothing baffles me to some extent, as I don’t recall ever being sunburned through a piece of clothing.  Apparently, though, there is research saying that UV rays can pass through many types of clothing, so this additional layer of sun protection may be beneficial.  Other companies have introduced UPF clothing in the past few years, and Lands’ End prices are competitive. Prices are currently discounted on many of their Sun.Life items, including a women’s t-shirt for $11.60, so many of the items are reasonably-priced.

I’ve been a fan of Lands’ End for many years.  Their quality is consistent and their return policy (including returns at Sears for any Lands’ End item) can’t be beat.  I’m going to look at more Sun.Life items for my family.  While I won’t pay a lot extra for this feature, if I can find reasonable prices for this additional protection, it will be worth it.

To learn more about Sun.Life, you can watch this video.

Lands’ End provided this item for me to review.

 
1

Review of Wheels on the Bus iPhone App

Posted by minnemom on Feb 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

Tags: , ,

 
6

Review of Dealbase.com Hotel Deals Website

Posted by minnemom on Jan 7, 2009 in Websites

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

Tags: ,

 
1

Review of TripFlix DVD, and Tripflix Contest Info

Posted by minnemom on Dec 9, 2008 in DVD/Video

Article has been moved to Travels with Children.

Tags: , ,

Copyright © 2014 reviews by minnemom All rights reserved. Theme by Laptop Geek.